母乳喂养建议

重返工作岗位的准备清单



Notepad and pen

如果您准备重回工作岗位,同时继续母乳喂养,请确保您选择了适合的吸奶器,并确保宝宝能正常吸吮由看护人喂的由吸奶器吸出的母乳。您可能还有兴趣阅读我们关于按需喂养的文章,这种母乳喂养的方式(对于已经适应母乳喂养的宝宝)意味着宝宝仍能采用与吸吮乳头相同的吸吮方式,避免奶嘴与乳头的混淆,延长母乳喂养的时间。

在重返工作岗位之前的一个月,您就要开始用吸奶器吸乳,并装入标注了日期的容器中冷冻保存。这样做有助于母乳保存,并习惯和了解吸奶器每次吸乳所需多少时间。建议您可以以书面的形式告知雇主您的母乳喂养计划,因此雇主就可以了解您和您的哺乳需求。尽管法律上没有要求,但雇主最好能提供一个隐秘和安全的地点供您进行吸乳。将母乳储存在适当的温度下至关重要:如果工作场所配备了冰箱,请您务必在容器上标注姓名或将母乳保存在储奶袋中,防止被误认为是牛奶。也可以选择使用冰包进行保存。

尽管让纯母乳喂养的宝宝习惯奶瓶可能比较困难,但您在做准备的同时,建议让您的宝宝应习惯由其他人喂食。通常有妈妈在场时,宝宝不愿意喝挤出的母乳,所以请您的配偶、朋友或家人帮忙,在当您离开房间时,尝试用奶瓶、婴儿杯或勺子进行喂奶。

提前实际操作-让指定的看护人照顾宝宝几个小时,以便留出时间解决问题。您可以利用这段时间到单位,或准备衣物和每天应携带的吸奶器具。在单位备一件上衣是个好主意,可在溢乳时更换,当然,您也可以备几个防溢乳垫。轻巧、方便穿脱的两件套上衣最适合吸乳。

首次离开宝宝去上班对您和宝宝而言都十分不易,但至少您能确信您在一边工作时仍能为您的宝宝提供最好的营养。

相关类别

母乳喂养   吸乳&泌乳   产后  

Related Products

Advice Articles

Back To Work Checklist

Posted on:

If you will be returning to work and intend to continue breastfeeding your baby, make sure that you have chosen a breast pump you are comfortable with, and that you are confident that your baby will have no problems taking your expressed breastmilk from his caregiver. You may also want to read our article on Paced Responsive Feeding which is a technique of feeding breastmilk (to established breastfed babies) that means the baby still uses the same tongue movements as at the breast which reduces nipple confusion and extends your breastfeeding journey.

Start pumping and freezing your milk, in date labelled containers, about a month before returning to work.  This will enable you to stock up, to get used to your pump, and work out how long each pumping session will take.  Advise your employer of your intention in writing, so that s/he can conduct a risk assessment specific to you and your breastfeeding needs.  Although not a legal requirement, it is good practice for employers to provide a private and safe place to express breastmilk.  It is important to store your breastmilk at the correct temperature: if there is a refrigerator available at work, be sure you label your milk with your name or keep it in a bag so it is not mistaken for cow's milk.  A cool bag with ice is an alternative.   

At the same time that you are preparing, your baby will need to get used to taking milk from someone other than you, and you may find it difficult to introduce a fully breastfed baby to a bottle.  Often a baby will not take expressed breastmilk if his mother is nearby, so enlist the help of your partner, friend or family member to try feeding your baby with a bottle, cup, or spoon in a different environment, or while you are out of the room. 

Have a practice run in advance – where your baby stays with your chosen caregiver for a few hours to give you time to iron out any problems.  You could use this time to take a trip into work, or prepare your outfits and pumping equipment you will be taking with you each day.  It is a good idea to have a spare top at work, just in case your breasts leak, as well as, of course, a good supply of nursing pads.  Two piece outfits with lightweight tops that pull up from the bottom are most convenient for expressing.

Although leaving your baby to go back to work for the first time may be hard for you both, at least you will know that you are still providing the best nutrition for him while you are apart.

Related Categories

Breastfeeding   Pumping & Expressing  

Related Products