母乳喂养建议

公共场所的母乳喂养



Breastfeeding In Public

在公共场所谨慎地哺乳是很容易的,您可能发现甚至没人注意到您在干什么。此外,英国(不包括北爱尔兰)为母乳喂养的妈妈和孩子提供保护,使其免受歧视。

很多妈妈选择拜访朋友或前往有哺乳室的地点作为其首次外出的地方,但母乳喂养并不意味着您和宝宝在哺乳时要躲起来。您很快就会发现宝宝需要喂食的信号,可在他/她大声哭闹引起众人注意之前就做好准备,舒适地为宝宝喂乳。

如果您对在公共场所哺乳感到不自在,那么在给宝宝喂奶时阅读杂志可能增强您的信心。角落是最隐秘的地点,如果有人陪同,您可以让他们帮您遮挡视线。

在宝宝出生后,有些妈妈觉得溢乳是个问题。如果乳房感到刺痛,感觉可能会溢乳时,有效的应对措施是用手按住乳头防止母乳溢出,并使用防溢乳垫。

适合哺乳的地点

很多场所设置了专门的哺乳室,方便妈妈喂奶。然而,饥肠辘辘的宝宝不能等!请记住,没有哪个母乳喂养的妈妈应当被“请”到卫生间去哺乳-儿童和奶瓶喂养的宝宝也不应该在那里哺喂。

哺乳与法律

母乳喂养在很多文化中都是理所应当的,这一点目前在中国也受到关注,我们很高兴地看到我们的社会正在努力保护妈妈在公共场所哺乳的权利。

苏格兰对公共场所哺乳的看法

根据苏格兰的《母乳喂养法案》(2005), 阻止或制止母亲在婴幼儿被允许进入的场所给该婴幼儿喂奶将构成犯罪行为。此项法案中,“婴幼儿”指的是不满2周岁的孩子。罚款金额最高可达2500英镑。

英格兰和威尔士对公共场所哺乳的看法 

根据《平等法》(2010年),禁止因为母乳喂养而歧视母亲、要求她离开某一场所或以不公平的方式对待。《平等法》为不满6个月大的婴儿提供了特殊的保护,该法案中的反性别歧视条款也保护了母乳喂养妈妈的权利。

相关类别

母乳喂养   母乳喂养的挑战  

Related Products

Advice Articles

Breastfeeding In Public

Posted on:

Breastfeeding in public discreetly can easily be done, and you may well find that no-one even notices what you are doing.  Moreover, breastfeeding mothers and babies are protected from discrimination throughout Great Britain (although not in Northern Ireland).

Many mothers visit a friend or somewhere with a mother and baby room for their first outing, but breastfeeding does not mean that you have to keep yourself and your baby hidden away when you breastfeed.  You will quickly learn to recognise your baby's feeding cues, so you can prepare yourself and feel comfortable and ready for him to latch on before he is crying for attention from you, and attracting attention from others.  

If you feel uncomfortable about breastfeeding in public, you may feel more confident if you attach your baby, and then read a magazine.  Sitting in a corner will give you most privacy and, if you are with someone, you could ask them to ensure that you are not in full view of everyone.

Some mothers find that leaking is a problem with a new baby.  If your breasts begin to tingle as if they may leak, applying pressure on the nipple with your hand stems the flow, and absorbent breast pads are helpful. 

Breastfeeding friendly places

A number of premises do provide designated rooms in which mothers can breastfeed.  Sometimes, however, a hungry baby will not wait!  And remember that no breastfeeding mother should be 'invited' to feed her baby in a toilet - adults and bottle fed babies aren't made to feed there.

Breastfeeding and the law

Most cultures view a mother breastfeeding her baby as natural.  It is again becoming more normal in the UK and happily our governments are working to support breastfeeding in public places.

Breastfeeding in public in Scotland

Under the Breastfeeding etc. (Scotland) Act 2005, it is an offence to prevent or stop a mother from feeding her child in a public place or licensed premises, so long as the child is lawfully allowed to be there.  Under this Act, 'child' means anyone under two years of age. The offence carries a fine of up to £2,500.

Breastfeeding in public in England and Wales 

Under the Equality Act 2010, mums cannot be discriminated against, asked to leave a venue or treated unfavourably because they are breastfeeding. The Equality Act provides specific protection for babies under six months, and after that a breastfeeding mother is protected through the sex discrimination provisions in the Act.

Related Categories

Breastfeeding   Breastfeeding Challenges  

Related Products