母乳喂养建议

吸奶的基本情况



Mum using the Lansinoh Single Electric Breast Pump

有各种理由可以说明奶是很好的。首先,吸奶可以在您不在宝宝身边时,为您的宝宝提供母乳。如果您在计划返回职场、参加社交活动或遭遇疾病时仍希望您的宝宝可以喝到宝贵的母乳,那么挤奶是特别有用的做法,

挤奶是指徒手,或用手动/电动吸奶器将乳汁从乳房中排出的动作。您可能会因以下因素而希望吸出乳汁:

  • 您的乳房有不舒服的肿胀感。
  • 您需要离开您孩子一段时间,或您正准备重返职场,希望别人能用您的母乳喂养。
  • 孩子喂养状况不佳(例如您的孩子天生兔唇或腭裂)。
  • 孩子早产,您需要等他能够吸吮时给予母乳而准备。

以下是一些不同的挤奶方法。母乳可以徒手挤出,请温柔且有节奏地向下按压您的乳房,拇指和食指呈C状。挤奶技术的关键在于按压您乳头后方部位的乳腺管。如果您挤压的只是乳头,将无法挤出乳汁,而且很有可能因此弄伤自己。许多母亲使用吸奶器挤奶,手动或电动吸奶器均有市售,电动吸奶器还有单边和双边之分。

在您启动吸奶器后,最好采用坐姿吸奶。有时,在您身边放置一张您孩子的照片有助于一种促进乳汁分泌的特殊激素产生(是不是真的很聪明!)。另外在手边放一杯水也极其重要,这样您在挤奶期间也可保持水分充足。

新挤出的母乳可在室温下放置6个小时。母乳在5-10摄氏度的冰箱里可放置3天,在0-4摄氏度环境中则可以放置8天。在-18摄氏度或更低温度环境下冰冻存储母乳则可以放置6个月。

在您将母乳放进冰箱时,请将其放在冰箱温度最低的地方,通常在右后侧。不要将母乳放在冰箱门上,因为那里是冰箱最温暖的地方,容易滋生细菌。

从冰箱拿出的母乳可直接喂养孩子,也可以放在盛有温水的容器里温奶,缓慢地去除寒气。注意不要过度加热母乳,且在给孩子喂奶之前需检查温度。

有些母亲会在孕晚期阶段挤出少量初乳(初乳富含碳水化合物,蛋白质和抗体)冰冻,以防她们或她们的孩子在出生时遇到喂养困难。

如果您在生产后立刻挤奶,挤出的初乳在最高不超过32℃温度下可放置12小时供足月婴儿喂养。您能挤出的乳汁量非常少,在前几天里,每次大约1茶勺。在婴儿出生后3-5天,您的乳房开始产生“成熟母乳”,且产量逐渐增加。

如果您的孩子不能在您乳房处直接吃奶,那么您应该尽早开始频繁地挤出奶水喂养宝宝,最初几天的频率约为每24小时8-12次。

有关吸奶的问题?

吸奶是一种后天习得技能,因此如果您一开始不能吸出很多乳汁时不要灰心。

吸奶器产生和释放吸力,从乳房中吸出乳汁的方式工作。事先做好准备工作会有很大帮助。

压力和过低的体温会降低吸奶器的功效,因此您应当尝试采用热压、乳房按摩和放松技巧。看着您孩子的照片,或他近期穿过的衣服(有助于您回忆起他的味道)会十分有效。您可能会发现早上喂奶后是吸奶的最佳时机,此刻您的奶水通常很足。当然,您也可以在任何您需要时吸奶。您也可以在您孩子吸吮一个乳房的同时吸出另一边乳房的奶水。

相关类别

母乳喂养   吸乳&泌乳  

Related Products

Advice Articles

Pumping Basics

Posted on:

Expressing breastmilk is great for a variety of reasons. The first being that expressing will enable you to have supplies of your breastmilk for feeding your baby even when you are not around. This is especially useful to do if you plan on returning to work, have social commitments or experience illness but still want your baby to have your precious breastmilk

Expressing breastmilk is the act of removing milk from your breast, either by hand or using a manual or electric pump.  You may want to express milk if:

  • your breasts feel uncomfortably full
  • you will be spending some time away from your baby and would like someone else to give him your breastmilk, or are returning to work
  • your baby is not feeding well (for example if your baby was born with a cleft lip or palate)
  • your baby was born early and you need to stimulate your milk supply for when he is ready to suckle from the breast

There are a few different ways to express your breastmilk. Breastmilk can be expressed by hand, gently and rhythmically press down on your breasts, making a C shape with your thumb and forefinger. The trick to this technique is to press the milk ducts behind your nipple. If you squeeze just the nipple you won’t get milk and it will more than likely hurt! Many mothers use a pump to express breastmilk, both manual and electric pumps are available, with both single and electric pumps working well.

Once you have your breast pump set up it is best to be seated whilst expressing. It sometimes helps to have a picture of your baby with you as this can encourage the release of a special hormone that encourages your body to produce breastmilk (clever really isn’t it?!) It’s also important to keep a drink nearby (water for example) so that you can stay hydrated during your expressing session.

If your breastmilk is freshly expressed it can keep for up to 6 hours without refrigeration. Breastmilk can be stored in a fridge at 5 to 10 degrees Celsius for up to 3 days and a fridge 0 to 4 degrees Celsius for up to 8 days. You can store milk in a freezer at -18 degrees Celsius or below for up to 6 months.

When placing your milk in the fridge, place it in the coldest part of the fridge, which is generally right at the back. Try to avoid storing it in the door as this is the warmest part of the fridge and can cause bacteria to grow.

Expressed breastmilk can be fed to your baby straight from the fridge, alternatively it can be warmed by placing the container in warm water to take the chill off slightly. Take care not to over warm and check the temperature before feeding to baby.

Some mothers express a little colostrum (first milk, rich in carbohydrates, protein and antibodies) to freeze during the last trimester of pregnancy, in case either they or their baby face feeding difficulties at birth.

If you are expressing shortly after birth colostrum can be stored at temperatures of up to 32ºC for 12 hours for a full term baby.  You will express very small quantities, say a teaspoon or so each time, for the first couple of days.  On about day 3 – 5 after your baby is born, your breasts will start to produce 'mature milk'.  The volume of milk you produce will increase. 

If your baby is unable to come to your breast it is important to begin expressing as soon as you are able, and toexpressing breastmilk as often as your baby would feed, about 8-12 times in 24 hours in the early days.

Problems Pumping?

Expression of breastmilk is a learned skill, so don’t be disheartened if you do not seem to be expressing much milk at first.

Pumps work by generating and releasing suction to remove milk from the breast.  You may find it helps if you prepare a little beforehand. 

Stress and cool body temperature can make pumping less productive, so you could try using a warm compress, breast massage and relaxation techniques.  It also helps to have a photograph of your baby to look at, or a piece of his recently worn clothing to remind you of his smell.  You may find that after an early morning feed is a good time to express, as often your supply is plentiful at this time.  You can, of course, express whenever and how often you need to.  You can also express from one breast while your baby is feeding from the other side.

See below for our full range of breast pumps.

Related Categories

Breastfeeding   Pumping & Expressing  

Related Products