母乳喂养建议

乳头疼痛



Tube of Lansinoh HPA® Lanolin

虽然母乳喂养是最特殊和最有意义的经历之一,但是有时也充满挑战,特别在哺乳前期。一些女性可能会经历一个或更多挑战,而有些女性则完全不需要努力。

许多妈妈反馈一开始乳头会变得疼痛,易受伤。当您有上述症状请不要惊慌,这是妈妈们所面临很常见的问题,约有80-95%妈妈都会经历一定程度的乳头疼痛。乳头疼痛通常与不佳的哺乳姿势和衔乳有关,此时婴儿不能正确含住乳房。这是进行母乳喂养的关键,如果您还在挣扎中,建议向助产师或家访护士寻求帮助。与此同时,兰思诺® HPA®羊毛脂膏可有效缓解和保护乳头疼痛和破裂。羊毛脂产品是纯天然,对孩子和妈妈都很安全,产品取自世界上纯正的羊毛脂,是唯一获得英国过敏协会认证批准的护乳霜。哺乳前不需要清除是该品的最大优势,而其他护乳霜产品要求在喂奶前清洗干净。

乳房产生更多乳汁时、变得更大、更重且略微疼痛属于正常情况。这种饱胀感在偶然情况下会导致乳房肿胀,此时会感觉到乳房非常硬和疼痛。如果发生乳房肿胀,可以定期先从受影响的那侧的乳房哺乳,防止乳房变得过度饱胀,如果乳房已非常饱胀或乳头扁平,在喂奶前应用手挤出或吸出少量乳汁,使乳房和乳头变软。在喂奶期间使用兰思诺® TheraPearl 3合1乳房护理冷热敷垫的冷敷功能可有效缓解疼痛,此外请保证足够的休息和饮水,穿着合身的、有支撑的文胸。

一些女性会因乳房中乳汁不能被有规律的、彻底地吸出而经历乳腺管堵塞,堵塞的导管会形成小的硬块,触碰时有疼痛感。如果乳腺管发生堵塞,经常先用受影响侧的乳房哺乳有助于疏通肿块并保持乳汁流动顺畅。进行热敷,使用兰思诺® TheraPearl 3合1乳房护理冷热敷垫 ——非常容易加热,只需要放进微波炉加热数秒钟,然后放在受影响部位即可。再次推荐,请穿着合身的、有支撑的文胸,最好不带钢圈,因为如果文胸太紧会进一步压迫乳腺管。

乳腺炎是一些母亲可能会经历的另一个挑战;绝大部分乳腺炎是由于乳汁没有被正确排出乳房,从而形成乳腺管堵塞,难以解决。症状包括发红、乳房肿块、乳房发烫且触摸时疼痛,一些母亲还会出现流感症状。对于其他问题,经常用受影响侧乳房哺乳十分重要,必要时应使用吸奶器以确保每次哺乳后乳房中的乳汁被全部排出。进行温敷,使用兰思诺® TheraPearl 3合1乳房护理冷热敷垫,并充分休息。

如果您的乳头扁平,那么您的孩子在衔乳时会有困难,因此需要轻柔地将乳头拉长,您可以使用兰思诺®乳头吸引器可以帮助您完成该动作。

有助于治疗乳头疼痛的提示:
  • 检查哺乳姿势和衔乳。您的孩子应满口含住乳房,他的舌头应在乳头下方。
  • 频繁喂奶。新生儿在24小时内需要喂奶8-12次。
  • 首先用最不疼痛的一侧哺乳,然后当乳汁流出时,换到另一侧。
  • 避免使用有塑料背胶的乳垫,它会使乳头始终湿润。
  • 应避免使用需要在哺乳前清洗的护乳霜,额外的摩擦可能会刺激乳头疼痛。
早期引起乳头疼痛的其他诱因:

乳房肿胀——如果您的乳房已非常饱满,那就会对孩子衔乳造成影响。请在哺乳之前挤出少量乳汁,在漫长的夜里至少每两小时哺乳一次。
乳房肿胀可能会导致乳头暂时性扁平或内陷。

短舌——短舌是可以治疗的,建议向医疗专业人士咨询。

中断吸吮——在吸吮未中断的情况下将孩子从乳房移开可能会增加乳头发生疼痛的可能性。如果您需要将您孩子从乳房移开,先把您的手指放在他牙龈中间停止其吸吮动作。

您可能会发现观看我们的母乳喂养视频非常有用,视频包含了含住乳头和如何成功哺乳孩子的注意事项和提示——好的技术有助于避免乳头疼痛并且可以使您更舒适和放松。

如果乳房发生炎症,那很可能是由于乳腺管堵塞造成的——请阅读我们关于乳腺炎的指南寻求更多信息。

如果您还在为母乳喂养而努力,请寻求母乳喂养顾问或哺乳期医生的帮助。

相关类别

母乳喂养   母乳喂养的挑战   准备母乳喂养   开始  

Related Products

Advice Articles

Sore Nipples

Posted on:

While breastfeeding is one of the most special and rewarding experiences ever, it can also be challenging at times, especially in the early days. Some women may experience one or more challenges, but others won’t struggle at all.

Many mothers report nipples to be sore and tender at first. Don’t panic if this happens to you, it is quite a common challenge that mums face, with 80-95% of mums experiencing some degree of nipple soreness. It’s often associated with poor positioning and attachment, whereby the baby doesn’t latch correctly at the breast. This is key in establishing breastfeeding, if you are struggling it’s always recommended to seek out the support of your midwife or health visitor. Or visit here to see the differentbreastfeeding positions to use.

In the meantime, Lansinoh HPA® Lanolin can help soothe and protect sore and cracked nipples. 100% natural and safe for baby and mum, this is the world’s purest lanolin and the only nipple cream having received the British Allergy Foundation seal of approval. A massive advantage is also that it doesn’t need to be removed before breastfeeding, unlike other nipple creams which you need to wash off prior to feeding.

It is normal for your breasts to become larger, heavier and a little tender when they begin to make more milk. Occasionally this fullness can lead to engorgement, when the breasts feel very hard and painful. If engorgement occurs breastfeed often on the affected side to prevent the breast becoming overly full, if the breast is very full or the nipple flattened hand express or pump a little milk before a feed to soften the breast and nipple. Use cold compresses such as the 3in1TheraPearl Breast Therapy between feeds to ease pain, also ensure you get plenty of rest and fluids and wear a well fitting, supportive bra.

Some women will also experience blocked ducts, which can occur if the breast isn’t completely drained of milk on a regular basis, a blocked duct will feel like a small hard lump that is sore to touch.  If this occurs it is important to breastfeed often on the affected side as this helps to loosen the blockage and keeps milk moving. Use a hot compress such as TheraPearl - which is very easy to warm, needing just to be popped in the microwave for a few seconds and then applied to the area. Again, wear a well-fitting, supportive bra, preferably without an underwire, that is not too tight as this can further constrict the milk ducts.

Another challenge some mothers may experience is mastitis; most cases of mastitis are caused by milk not being properly removed from the breast and generally leads on from unresolved blocked ducts. Symptoms include a red, swollen area on the breast, which is hot and painful to touch, some mothers will also experience flu like symptoms. As with other challenges it is important to breastfeed often on the affected side, pump if necessary and ensure the breast is fully drained at each feed. Apply a warm compress such as the 3in1 Therapearl Breast Therapy and get plenty of rest.

If you experience flat nipples and your baby has difficulty latching on, you need to gently draw out your nipple and you can use the Lansinoh Latch Assist to help you with this.

Tips to help sore nipples heal:
  • Check positioning and attachment.  Your baby should take a big mouthful of breast, with his tongue under your nipple
  • Feeding frequently can help.  A new baby needs to feed 8-12 times in a 24 hour period.
  • Feed on the least sore side first, then when the milk is flowing, switch breasts.
  • Avoid breast pads with plastic backing, which keeps nipples wet.
  • Creams that need to be removed before breastfeeding should be avoided as extra rubbing may irritate nipple soreness
Other causes of sore nipples in the early days:

Engorgement - If your breasts are very full it may make it difficult for your baby to get a good attachment. Expressing a little milk before feeding, and feeding at least every two hours with a longer gap at night can help.
Engorgement may lead to temporarily flat or inverted nipples.

Tongue Tie - Tongue-ties can be treated, and it is advisable to consult a health professional.

Breaking Suction - Removing your baby from your breast without breaking the suction may increase the likelihood of getting sore nipples. If you need to take your baby off the breast, break the suction first by putting your finger between his gums.

You may find it useful to watch our breastfeeding video, which includes hints and tips on latching on and how to successfully breastfeed your baby - a good technique can help to avoid the pain of sore nipples and make you more comfortable and relaxed. 

If you notice an inflammation of the breast then you may well have a plugged milk duct - read our guide to mastitis to find out more.

If you are struggling with breastfeeding, do get help from a breastfeeding counsellor or lactation consultant. Useful organisations: 

National Childbirth Trust (NCT) Breastfeeding Line: 0870 444 8708 
La Leche League: 0845 120 2918 
Association of Breastfeeding Mothers: 08444 122 949

Related Categories

Breastfeeding   Breastfeeding Challenges  

Related Products