母乳喂养建议

宝宝的首次喂养



阅读关于母乳喂养的建议,了解在宝宝出生后头几天可能出现的情况。其中包括初乳的重要性以及给宝宝喂奶的建议频率。

Mum breastfeeding her baby
宝宝的首次哺乳

如果您和宝宝的身体状况良好,医生会鼓励您尽快进行哺乳,因为新生婴儿的吸吮反射是最强烈的。在宝宝一出生后就给他/她开始喂奶,将有助于您的子宫收缩,促进胎盘娩出。但如果您的宝宝没有立即含住乳头,也不用着急,您可以通过肌肤接触帮助他/她调节体温和呼吸,并刺激您泌乳。

初乳-新生儿的最佳食物

在怀孕中期,您的身体就开始酝酿初乳。初乳为淡黄色至浅棕色,其中所含蛋白质是成熟母乳的三倍,还富含抗体、维生素和矿物质。事实上,初乳中有60多种成分,其中的30种是母乳特有的。初乳能帮助您的宝宝排出胎粪(宝宝在子宫中消化的物质),更好地抵御胃肠道的细菌和病毒的侵害。最初,初乳的量很少,但随着宝宝不断吸吮,乳量会逐步增多。新生儿的胃容量只有豌豆大小,出生前几天的需奶量只有一汤勺左右。有些妈妈会在孕期的最后三个月挤出少量初乳冻存,防止分娩后可能出现的母乳喂养困难。

新生儿应该多少时间哺乳一次?

有些宝宝在出生后的头几天十分嗜睡,这些宝宝应至少每三小时哺乳一次。新生儿出生后体重稍稍下降实属正常;在出生后第一周,宝宝的体重通常会下降7%,第二周左右一般会恢复到出生时的体重。

成熟的母乳会在何时产生?

胎盘娩出会诱发哺乳期的第二阶段,妈妈会在第3-5天分泌成熟乳。宝宝胃容量逐渐适应不断增加的乳量,因此哺乳次数应适当增加,每24小时要哺乳8至12次。随着宝宝茁壮成长,哺乳次数也应增加。

相关类别

母乳喂养   准备母乳喂养   开始  

Related Products

Advice Articles

Baby’s First Feed

Posted on:

Read breastfeeding advice and what to expect in the first few days after your baby has been born. Including why colostrum is so important and how often you should expect to feed your baby.

Mum breastfeeding her baby
Baby's First Feed

If you and your baby are well, you will be encouraged to breastfeed as soon as possible, as his sucking reflex is strongest soon after birth. If you put your baby straight to the breast after birth, it will help your uterus to contract and speed up delivery of the placenta. But don’t worry if your baby does not latch on immediately – the skin-to-skin contact will help him to regulate his body temperature and breathing, and will stimulate your milk.

Colostrum - the perfect food for your newborn

Your body will have started to make colostrum midway during pregnancy.  This first milk ranges in colour from pale lemon to light brown, and contains around three times more protein than mature human milk, as well as antibodies, vitamins and minerals.  In fact, colostrum is made up of over 60 components, of which 30 are exclusive to human milk.  Colostrum helps your baby to produce his first stool to excrete meconium (the substances ingested while in the womb) and lines his stomach and intestines to better defend against bacteria and viruses.  It comes in very small quantities at first, gradually increasing as the baby suckles more, as new-born babies have tummies the size of a marble  An average feed during the first day is only around a teaspoon full. Some mothers express a little colostrum into syringes to freeze during the last trimester of pregnancy, in case either they or their baby face feeding difficulties at birth.

How often should I feed my newborn?

Some babies are sleepy for the first few days and need to be encouraged to feed at least three-hourly.  It is perfectly normal for a new-born baby to lose a little weight after he is born; on average a baby will lose 7% of his weight during the first week of life and will, in general, be back up to birth weight on or before two weeks of age.

When will my mature milk come in?

The delivery of the placenta triggers the second stage of lactation, and your full term milk will come in on day 3-5.  Your baby’s tummy will grow to accommodate the greater amounts, and so will need to feed often at first: about 8 to 12 times in a 24 hour period.  Feeds become more spread out as your baby grows older.

Related Categories

Breastfeeding   Preparing to Breastfeed   Getting Started  

Related Products