母乳喂养建议

母乳喂养的好处



Mother breastfeeding her child

在宝宝诞生之初,最重要的一大决定就是采用母乳喂养还是人工喂养。因此兰思诺提供了关于母乳喂养好处的综合性指导,帮助您理解并作出明智的决定。

研究表明,母乳喂养对于妈妈和宝宝的健康有很多好处,包括短期和长期好处以及心理上的好处,并有助于增进亲子感情。

对妈妈的好处

从第一次喂养开始,您和宝宝之间就建立了长久的亲密关系,肌肤接触让宝宝感觉舒适和安全。母乳喂养不仅是无价的,而且是随时哺喂,温度适宜,无需对奶瓶进行消毒或在出门时携带哺乳手提包。当然母乳喂养对妈妈的健康也有好处……

宝宝出生后立即吸吮乳头会刺激催产素的分泌,这种激素向乳房传递信号,开始分泌乳汁。催产素促进子宫收缩,防止出血,帮助子宫恢复到孕前大小。母乳喂养还能延迟月经(防止体内的铁元素流失)。虽然此时您不容易怀孕,但这并不是万无一失的,所以还需采用常规的避孕方式。

研究指出,母乳喂养对妈妈的好处包括:

  • 降低患卵巢癌和子宫癌的风险
  • 降低患绝经前乳腺癌的风险
  • 提高骨骼强度,降低中老年时发生骨折和骨质疏松的风险
  • 从长远角度来看,能减轻2型糖尿病的风险

研究还指出,由于催产素水平升高,母乳喂养的妈妈比人工喂养的妈妈更不容易出现产后焦虑和抑郁。因为母乳喂养的宝宝不容易出现呼吸道感染、腹泻和肠胃炎,因此能减少宝宝的就医次数,减轻相关的焦虑感。专家认为催乳素(刺激泌乳的激素)有助于安抚妈妈的情绪。

母乳喂养对妈妈的另一大好处就是消耗脂肪,每天能消耗500卡路里,帮助妈妈们迅速减轻体重。要消耗掉这么多热量,人工喂养的妈妈需要骑车上坡1小时。一般而言,非母乳喂养的妈妈减掉的体重较少,不能像母乳喂养的妈妈一样成功维持体型。研究指出母乳喂养妈妈的新陈代谢系统发生变化,以调节血糖水平,可以更高效地减轻体重和维持更适宜的胆固醇水平,降低母乳喂养的妈妈患心脏病的风险。

对宝宝的好处

母乳是唯一一种专为宝宝准备的食物。母乳不可替代,随着宝宝的成长而变化,以满足宝宝的需要。此外,母乳中的营养成分比奶粉中的成分更容易吸收,因此,母乳喂养可以确保宝宝获取最佳的营养,而通过母乳传递的抗体也能为宝宝提供保护。对于宝宝而言,出生后的前六个月应采用纯母乳喂养,此后宝宝开始进食固体食物后也应该尽可能长时间地进行母乳喂养,这么做既有短期的好处,也有长期的优势。

给宝宝带来的直接益处

母乳喂养时,宝宝会立即感到舒适和安全,因此,应该尽早地对宝宝进行母乳喂养。初乳能促进胎粪的排出(宝宝在子宫中消化的物质),更好地抵御胃肠道细菌和病毒的侵害。

如果您有糖尿病或过敏家族史,采用母乳喂养,宝宝患这些疾病的风险会降低。此外,母乳喂养还能有效防止宝宝出现以下症状:

  • 便秘(因为粪便较软),腹泻
  • 胀气或吐奶
  • 尿路感染
  • 耳部感染
  • 因肠胃炎和呼吸道感染而住院

母乳中富含重要物质,能有效促进宝宝大脑、视网膜、中枢神经系统的发育,以及生长因子和激素的分泌。

给宝宝带来的长期益处

研究指出母乳喂养对宝宝的好处可能包括:

  • 降低7岁前出现胸腔感染的风险
  • 不容易患湿疹和哮喘
  • 降低以后患肥胖、高血压、心脏病、糖尿病和蛀牙的风险
  • 更可能在智力测试中得高分

母乳喂养和早产儿

母乳喂养对早产儿的好处尤其多,因为母乳喂养令早产儿更强壮,避免发生感染。如果宝宝不会直接母乳喂养,您可以挤出母乳(和初乳),用奶瓶进行喂养。如果宝宝太小或身体状况较差,不能立即进食,您可以将挤出的母乳冷冻起来,供以后喂食。

相关类别

妊娠   母乳喂养   准备母乳喂养   开始  

Related Products

Advice Articles

Benefits Of Breastfeeding

Posted on:

Mother breastfeeding her child

one of the biggest decisions you will face when baby arrives is whether to breastfeed or bottle feed. That's why here at Lansinoh we have put together a comprehensive guide to the benefits of breastfeeding, to educate you, allowing you to make an informed decision.

Studies have shown that the health benefits of breastfeeding for both mother and baby are extensive, and include immediate benefits, longer term benefits, as well as psychological benefits and helping to establish a close bond.

Benefits to mum

From the very first feed you are creating a lasting bond with your baby, and giving him a feeling of comfort and security through skin to skin contact.  Not only is breastfeeding free, but breastmilk is ready on demand at just the right temperature, without the need to sterilise bottles or carry around a bag of kit when out and about.  And then there are the health benefits of breastfeeding for mother, too …

The suckling of your baby at the breast immediately after birth encourages the release of oxytocin (the ‘love hormone’), which sends a signal to your breasts to release milk to your baby.  Oxytocin encourages your uterus to contract, to prevent haemorrhaging and begin to return to its pre-pregnancy size.  Breastfeeding can delay the return of your period (thus conserving iron in your body), but while you are less likely to conceive during this time, it is not a foolproof method so it is best not to rely on it totally.

Studies have shown that benefits of breastfeeding for mothers include:

  • A lower risk of ovarian and uterine cancer
  • A lower risk of premenopausal breast cancer
  • Increase in bone strength, resulting in fewer fractures and reduced risk of osteoporosis in later life
  • A decrease in the risk of Type II diabetes in the long term

Studies also suggest that, due to increased oxytocin levels, breastfeeding mothers show less postnatal anxiety and depression than artificial feeding mothers.  As your baby is less likely to suffer from respiratory infections, diarrhoea and gastroenteritis if he is breastfed, you may well pay fewer visits to your GP, and therefore experience less associated stress.  Prolactin, the milk producing hormone, is thought to have a calming effect on mum, too.

Another benefit of breastfeeding for mums is that breastfeeding helps mobilise fat stores and burns up to 500 calories a day, to help you lose pregnancy pounds faster.  A bottle feeding mum would need to cycle uphill for an hour in order to use up this many calories !  In general, non breastfeeding mothers lose less weight and are not as successful in keeping it off as breastfeeding women.There is a suggestion that a breastfeeding mother’s metabolism changes to regulate blood sugar levels and this, together with more efficient weight loss and good cholesterol levels, may lead to a lower risk of heart problems for women who have breastfed.

Benefits to baby

Your breastmilk is the only food designed specifically for your baby, can not be replicated, and changes as he grows, to suit his needs.  What is more, the nutrients in breastmilk are more easily absorbed than formula milk, so you can be certain that he is getting maximum benefit, as well as being protected by the antibodies produced just for him and passed on through your milk.  There are both short and long term benefits of breastfeeding for babyfor the recommended time of six months exclusively, and thereafter together with solid foods for as long as you and your baby wish.   

Imediate benefits to your baby

Your baby will immediately feel a sense of comfort and security while breastfeeding, so it is important to put your baby to your breast as soon as you are able.  Your first milk (colostrum) helps him to produce his first stool to excrete meconium (the substances ingested while in the womb) and lines his stomach and intestines to better defend against bacteria and viruses. 

If you have a family history of diabetes or allergies, your baby is less likely to develop these if he is breastfed.  In addition, further benefits of breastfeeding baby are that they are less likely to:

  • be constipated, as their stools are softer, or to suffer with diarrhoea
  • have gas problems or vomit after feeding
  • suffer urinary tract infections
  • suffer ear infections
  • be admitted to hospital with gastroenteritis and respiratory infections

Breastmilk contains vital substances to help the development of your baby’s brain, retina and central nervous system, as well as growth factors and hormones.

Longer term benefits to your baby

Studies have indicated that breastfeeding benefits for baby may include:

less likelihood of chest infections until the age of 7
be less likely to develop eczema and asthma
a lower risk of becoming obese and suffer from high blood pressure, heart disease, diabetes and tooth decay in later life
be more likely to achieve higher scores in intelligence tests

Breastfeeding and premature babies

Premature babies benefit from breastmilk particularly, as this will build up their strength and protect them from infection.  If your baby is unable to feed at the breast, you can express your breastmilk (and colostrum) to be given to your baby via other means.  If your baby is too small or poorly to be able to take it immediately, you can freeze your expressed breastmilk it for later use.

Related Categories

Pregnancy   Breastfeeding   Preparing to Breastfeed   Getting Started  

Related Products