母乳喂养建议

分娩与生产



Lady in labour in hospital

许多女性都不了解,实际上羊水破裂并不是分娩的第一个信号。

分娩的第一个信号以及何时前往医院或分娩中心

在孩子出生之前,羊水胞衣可始终保持完好无损,甚至有一些孩子是包裹着胞衣出生的,称为“在胎膜中”出生,实属幸运。如果羊水已破,请注意羊水颜色,您的助产师需要了解羊水是否是清澈,染血或呈绿色。大部分产妇在分娩初期会感到轻微宫缩,有时候感觉类似于腰部开始疼痛。如果您就要分娩时,感觉疼痛会越来越强烈、持久和频繁。您应当可以区分分娩阵痛和假性宫缩现象,因为通常宫缩“练习”会逐渐缓和,或当您休息、喝杯水时可停止。在某些情况下,腹泻也可能是分娩的信号之一。

排泄物呈褐色且带有血迹的情况,也称为“见红”。当堵塞子宫颈的粘液栓释放后,这意味着即将要分娩了。

在分娩早期阶段,子宫颈会变薄并开始以每小时1厘米的平均速度扩张,为分娩第一个孩子做好准备。在您产子之前,子宫颈需要扩张10厘米。

分娩开始是一个非常激动人心的时刻,但您需要记住接下来将会是一个漫长、可能很困难的过程。请确保您在分娩当天已获得了充分的休息,或至少尝试去休息,您可以散步,或在浴缸里多泡一会,多喝水并少量进餐。

关于什么时候与助产师沟通取决于您的想法和您所处的环境,我相信您已与您的助产师进行过讨论。如果您在分娩早期到达医院,您有可能会被要求回家等待直至宫颈进一步扩张。如果您觉得需要去医院,请立即联系您的助产师,他们会帮助您确定需要怎么做。许多产妇遵循的一个流行技巧为1-5-1法则——此时您的宫缩每次会持续1分钟或以上,宫缩间隔小于5分钟,但已持续1小时。绝大部分产妇都很有耐心且镇定,因为您即将见到已经孕育了9个月的子女。

到达医院

将您的病例报告交至妇产科的住院台。然后您将被带至产房或病房,接下来就可以更换住院服或自己带的其他衣服了。

分娩时穿什么衣服

在分娩期间,我们将以您穿着可以自由活动的宽松衣物。您可以穿住院服,但大部分产妇更喜欢穿大号的T恤或旧的睡衣(最好是棉质)。在分娩期间不需要买太昂贵的衣物,因为您在分娩后很可能想扔掉它们。在分娩期间您很可能可以自由走动,因此您需要准备额外的衣物保暖。您很可能需要一些舒适的拖鞋,袜子也是必需的,很多孕妇曾抱怨在分娩期间感觉脚冷。

助产师检查

当您见到助产师时,她会询问您到目前为止的感受如何,例如宫缩有多强烈,多频繁。

此后她们会进行一些常规体检,包括脉搏、血压、体温和尿检。他们还将触摸您的腹部以感受胎儿的位置并检查胎心。

最后还需进行内科检查确定宫颈开口程度,以及距离分娩的时间。

这些检查会在分娩阵痛期间反复进行以确保您和您的孩子都安好,并由此来评估整个产程的进度。您的助产师是您的主要联系人,如果您有任何问题或需要建议请随时进行问询。

分娩体位

得益于重力的作用,某些特定分娩体位有助于您的分娩进程,例如站立,坐位或四肢跪倒都有助于您的孩子通过骨盆。另一些产妇则喜欢躺下,如果您觉得您需要躺下,最好向左侧躺,这也会有助于分娩。

一些产房的布置越来越家常,并配有分娩球、凳子或垫子供您使用。还有些产房配有淋浴和浴缸,有助于消除分娩早期阶段的疼痛感。请选择最适合您的产房。

缓解分娩阵痛期的疼痛

分娩阵痛期中,您将有多种选择以缓解不适和疼痛感。在分娩阵痛的早期,最好的缓解方式是来回走动、洗澡或使用TENS设备。在进入到分娩后期,您可能需要杜冷丁、或硬膜外麻醉。

杜冷丁则通过在腿或臀部注射给药。持续时间为4小时,可以使您略感到飘飘欲仙及嗜睡,但其不能完成消除疼痛。硬膜外麻醉是将一根细管子放置在您背部的脊椎间隙中间。药物通过细管注入,使得身体腰以下部位麻木。之后您将无法离开病床,并需要在手臂上打点滴。在分娩期过程中,您的孩子将被实时监护。

不同的疼痛缓解方式对每个人的效果不同,某些方式对您可能有更好的效果,您可以就此与您的助产师进行讨论。某些疼痛缓解方式可能对您没有吸引力,但也请保持客观的态度,您可以将您的任何担忧与助产师讨论,请记住有多种方案可供选择。

剖腹产

正常的阴道分娩是所有分娩首选方法,因为其更安全,对您日后的生育能力也更有益。如果您实在需要剖腹产也没问题,剖腹产是一种常见且安全的手术,如果您或您孩子的生命处于危急状态,剖腹产可以拯救您或您孩子的生命。剖腹产的形式有两种:有计划的剖腹产称为选择性剖腹产,另一种为紧急剖腹产。

以下列举了可能需要进行剖腹产的一些情况:

  • 胎位异常,例如:臀位分娩
  • 胎盘问题,例如:低位胎盘阻碍子宫出口
  • 疾病并发症
  • 无法正常进行阴道分娩
  • 引产失败
  • 用产钳或引吸器分娩失败
  • 预计胎儿体重达到4kg或以上
  • 先兆子痫
  • 已知胎儿存在高风险或异常
  • 某些性传播疾病
  • HIV
  • 分娩时母亲和胎儿均出现紧急状况
  • 多胞胎(可以选择) 

当然,您可以与您的医师讨论最合适您的方案,但有些因素会影响最终决定,以下因素会导致情况复杂化:

  • 患有某些疾病
  • 体重超标或肥胖

相关类别

妊娠  

Related Products

Advice Articles

Labour And Birth

Posted on:

Lady in labour in hospital

Unknown to many women, your waters breaking isn’t actually the first sign of labour.

First signs of labour and when to go to the hospital or birth centre

Your bag of waters can stay intact right up until your baby is born, infact some baby’s can even be born in the bag of waters, known as being born “in the caul”, it’s actually a sign of good luck. If your waters do break be sure to take note of the colour, your midwife will want to know whether the water was clear, blood stained or green. Most women will start labour by experiencing niggly mild contractions, which can sometimes feel like lower back ache initially. If you’re in labour these pains will start to become stronger, longer and more frequent. You’ll be able to tell the difference between them and Braxton Hicks contractions because the “practice” contractions generally slow down or stop when you lie down or have a glass of water for example. In some cases you may experience loose bowels as a sign of labour. 

Your discharge will also appear brown and bloody, also known as a “bloody show”. This is when the mucus plug that blocks the cervix is released, this is a sign that your labour is starting.

During the early stages of labour your cervix thins and starts to dilate on average a centimetre an hour for your first baby. You need to be ten centimetres dilated before you can push your baby into the world.  

When the onset of labour starts it can be a very exciting time for you but you need to remember it’s going to be a long and probably not an easy process. On the day make sure you get lots of rest or at least try to, maybe take a walk or a long soak in the bath, drink plenty of fluids and eat light meals.

When it’s time to speak to your midwife will depend on you and your circumstances as I’m sure you have discussed this with your midwife. If you go in to hospital during early labour there is a chance you may be sent home to wait a bit longer until your further dilated. If you feel you need to go to hospital don’t hesitate to ring your midwife and they will help you decide what you need to do. A popular technique women follow is the 1-5-1 rule – this is when your contractions last a minute or more and are less than 5 minutes apart but you have been experiencing them for an hour. Most of all be patient and calm, as you’re at the point when your get to meet your son/daughter you have been carrying for 9 months.

Upon arrival

Take your own notes and report to the maternity unit's admissions desk. You will then be taken to the labour ward or your room, where you can change into a hospital gown or other clothes of your own you have brought.

What to wear in labour

During labour we suggest that you wear loose clothing which allows you freedom of movement.  You can wear a hospital gown, but most women prefer to wear a large T-shirt or an old nightdress (preferably cotton). Don’t buy anything too expensive to wear in labour, you’re probably going to want to throw it away afterwards. You will probably be free to wander around while you are in labour, so you may want to bring extra clothing to keep warm.  You will probably want some slippers of comfortable footwear, socks are also a must, many mums complain of cold feet in labour.

Examination by the midwife

When you see the midwife she will ask you what you have been experiencing so far, for example how strong your contractions have been and how often.

After this they will have some regular check-ups such as your pulse, blood pressure, temperature and possibly your urine. They will also feel your abdomen to see what position your baby is in and their heart rate.

Finally an internal examination will be done to see how much you have dilated and how close you are to the birth.

These checks will be repeated throughout the labour to make sure both you and your baby are fine and to assess how you are progressing. Your midwife is your main contact, if you have any questions or need some advice don’t hesitate to ask.

Water births

Some maternity units may be able to offer you a water birth in one of their birthing pools. If this is something that interests you, your midwife can tell you the advantages and disadvantages of the task.

Some women find this a more relaxing way to give birth, however it will depend on your local area as there are only a few available and they need to be requested and may be in use by another mother at the same time.

Birthing positions

Certain birthing positions can assist in the progress of your labour, for example standing, sitting or kneeling on all fours can all assist to help your baby progress through the pelvis, this is thanks to the magic of gravity. Other women prefer to be lying down, if you feel you need to lie down it is best to lay on your left side as this can again help you to progress.

Some delivery rooms have been made more homely and have birthing balls, stools or mats for you to use. Some also have showers and baths available which can help ease the pain in the early stages of labour. Pick the one which is the most comfortable for you.

Pain relief in labour

You will be offered a few ways to help with discomfort and pain during labour. In early labour the best things to do are walk around, have a bath or you may be offered a TENS machine. Further in to labour you may be offered pethidine, an epidural or gas and air.

Gas and air is used only during a contraction, you suck the air in through a mouthpiece and it temporarily relives the pain during a contraction. Pethidine is administered by an injection into your leg or bottom. It lasts for a total of 4 hours and can make you feel a little spaced out and sleepy, it doesn’t take the pain away completely. An epidural is a thin tube placed in the back in the spaces between your vertebra. Medication is administered to make your body numb from the waist down. You will be unable to move from the bed and will need to have a drip in your arm. Your baby will also need to be continuously monitored during labour.

The different types of pain relief don’t work for everyone, some will work better for you than others but this is something you will discuss with your midwife. Some types of pain relief might not appeal to you but keep an open mind and discuss any concerns you have with your midwife and remember there is more than one option available.

C section/caesareans

A natural vaginal birth is the preferred method for any birth as it’s far safer and better for your future fertility. If you do however need a caesarean it’s a common and safe procedure and if the life of either you or your baby is in danger it can safe your or theirs life.  There are two types of caesareans: A C-section which is planned is called an elective caesarean section and the other type is an emergency caesarean section.

Here are a list of possibilities that would mean a caesarean possible:

  • Abnormal presentation i.e. Breech Baby
  • Problems with placenta i.e. low lying placenta blocking exit of uterus
  • Previous C-section (you get the choice with a 2nd baby)
  • Medical complications
  • Failure to progress in labour
  • Failed induction of labour
  • Failure of forceps or ventouse delivery
  • Expected large baby 4kg or over
  • Pre-eclampsia
  • Baby with known high risks or abnormalities
  • Some STD’s
  • HIV
  • Emergencies in labour – both maternal and foetal
  • Multiple births (get the option)

 

You will of course discuss what is best for you with your doctor but there are things that can affect the decision, the following factors can cause complications:

  • If you suffer from any medical conditions
  • If you are overweight or obese

Related Categories

Pregnancy  

Related Products